top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayce

January 2021- A personal reflection

I have plans for improving my happiness this year. I hope to make some changes. Not because it's a new year... but because I feel like I am in a place where I can acknowledge my need to make changes for my health & happiness and I am finally willing. I think it's my will that has never aligned with my need. So, here is my January reflection of my road to health and happiness.


January 2021 highlights...


* Biden and Harris inauguration. Not only do I feel a lot better about the morals of this administration, but I am hopeful that we can work toward overreaching equally. I mean, it doesn't feel like a big ask... let's just be nice to each other, take care of each other, and want the best for those who are different from us. I made a little graphic for my FB photo on the day of the inauguration because I felt hopeful.

  • I made a decision that I have been struggling with for many years. I have decided to evolve my business a little this year. I mean, I am always evolving as an artist... but I have been hesitant to share it as I have had reasonable success with my children's line of costume pieces for imaginative play. I will be working more on making pieces of "art" that I enjoy making and that speak to me, over making costume pieces just because they sell. At one time they inspired me... possibly because my kids were smaller. Lately, I feel less inspiration and fulfillment when I make them. I will be putting myself out there much more... mainly with illustrations. I will explore new mediums and sell some new products (I will continue to make some of my costume pieces for now as well). I started with the Book Bingo, I have made a few stickers, and I have some other things in the works. So, stay tuned.

  • I hope to read a lot more. Previous to 2020, reading was just something I felt like I didn't have time for. My daughter has always been a big reader and she had a long list of books she recommended I read. During the Stay-at-home orders, I started picking up books. And I've missed them. I still don't feel like I have time to sit down and read, but I have made it a part of my bedtime routine and I think it's actually helping me sleep a little better.


  • At the beginning of the year, I made a book bingo to do along with my daughter. I am pretty sure I am winning right now, but she reads fast and could easily get a bingo before me. In January, I read 4 books; The last book in the Grishaverse series (Netflix show coming April 23rd), Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo, a book my daughter requested I read when she was in 3rd grade, Because of Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo (one of her favorite authors from elementary school... she is now a freshman in high school), On the Come Up by Angie Thomas (I read The Hate You Give and really enjoyed it. On the Come Up affected me in a way I haven't experienced from a book. It was really good), and I just finished The Song of Achilles (recommended by BookTok and an excellent read). I would recommend all these books.


  • I have shifted the way I eat. I want to call it a diet. But not a diet in the sense I am trying to lose weight (I could do with some weight loss), but a diet in which I am selecting foods that feed my body in a positive way (there is a lot of room for growth here and I am not trying to deny myself food). I have found by cutting out many grains (mainly wheat and corn), I feel better and I am less bloated. I have also cut down on my dairy. I have a long way to go and it has been a struggle, but my gut has been so much happier. Happier gut, happier me.


  • My birthday is this week and after many, many years, we finally purchased a computer for me. Happy Birthday to me! I haven't had a computer since the last time I had a blog which was probably over 6 years ago. Back then I only had to share with my husband who was gone most of the day. Now with two teenagers in the house, I am low person on the priority list most of the time. I will always put my needs before my families. But it made it hard to manage a small business. Now I get priority and it feels good.

I feel like it's been a good start. I have plans of moving more... which I have been taking walks with a friend. I plan on spending more time with my teenagers (I feel like I can already hear their sighs). And I plan on cleaning this house so I can enjoy spending time here without stress. It's all very ambitious. But small steps and a focus on my own health will hopefully make it easier.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page